‘Trieste’ Sheet from the Topographic Map of the Federal People’s Republic of Yugoslavia

Military Geographical Institute, Belgrade, 1953

Paper, full colour print; 98 x 68.3 cm; paper, hectography; 17 sheets; scale: 1:50,000; sheet title: ‘Trieste’; l. l.: printing information: ‘Reproduktovao G. I. J. N. A. 1953 g.’; u. l.: round seal: ‘FEDERATIVNA NARODNA REPUBLIKA HRVATSKA / DRŽAVNI SEKRETARIJAT ZA INOSTRANE POSLOVE’; l. l.: map key and list of abbreviations

Purchased in 2016


The sheet ‘Trieste’ from the detailed topographic map of the Federal People’s Republic of Yugoslavia in 1:50,000 scale (first edition published in 1950) depicts the area of the Free Territory of Trieste (FTT), the Slovenian Littoral, and northwestern Istria. In addition to the state border, the borders of Zone A and Zone B and the co-called Morgan Line are marked on the sheet. The area of Trieste, the Slovenian Littoral, and northwestern Istria received a special international legal status based on the peace treaty signed between the victorious powers and Italy after World War II, in Paris on 10 February 1947. Per this treaty, the ‘Free Territory of Trieste’ was established. It covered an area of 736 km2 and was divided into two zones: Zone A, which was under Anglo-American military administration and covered 220 km2 (Trieste and its surroundings from Duino to Muggia), and Zone B, which was under Yugoslav military administration and covered 516 km2 (the districts Kopar and Buje). The UN Security Council accepted the temporary administration of the FTT, which lasted until 1954. In 1953, the USA and UK enacted a decision to withdraw and cede Zone A to Italy, which resulted in Yugoslav-Italian tensions along the state border, i.e. the Trieste Crisis. Demarcation negotiations between Italy and Yugoslavia began in February and ended with the London Memorandum of October 1954. The FTT was abolished and partitioned in a way that left the entire Zone B and 11.5 km2 of Zone A to Yugoslavia. As Italy did not ratify the Memorandum, the border dispute between the states was resolved in Osimo in November 1975. The Osimo agreements came into force after ratification in 1977. After the collapse of the Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia, its obligations were inherited by Croatia and Slovenia. Bound to the map sheet is a copy of the London Memorandum draft entitled ‘MEMORANDUM ON THE AGREEMENT BETWEEN THE GOVERNMENTS / OF ITALY, THE UNITED KINGDOM, UNITED / STATES, AND YUGOSLAVIA ON THE FREE TERRITO- / RY OF TRIESTE’, containing 8 points and two annexes: ‘ANNEX I / To the Memorandum on the Agreement between the Governments of Italy, / the UK, USA, and Yugoslavia on the Free Territory of Trieste / initialled in London on 5 October 1954.’; ‘ANNEX II / SPECIAL STATUTE’.

Sources / literature: ‘Slobodni Teritorij Trsta (STT)’, (22 March 2021) ‘Osimski sporazumi’, (22 March 2021) ‘Londonski memorandum (Memorandum o suglasnosti između vlada Italije, Ujedinjenoga Kraljevstva, Sjedinjenih Američkih Država i Jugoslavije o Slobodnom Teritoriju Trsta)’, (22 March 2021)
The e-catalog is co-financed by the Ministry of Culture and Media of the Republic of Croatia and the City of Zagreb.
2021. © Croatian history museum. All rights reserverd. | Impressum
Digital development: Artelekt Media
error: Sadržaj je zaštićen!

Hrvatski povijesni muzej

Croatian History Museum